In 1934, Burnie was described as follows:
Burnie is chief centre of the largest municipality on the Northwest Coast. Its population is 3,390 and it is the port for the shortest passenger service to the mainland. The voyage to Melbourne is only 215 miles and the time taken is 14 hours. Irrespective of tides, the largest ships in Australia can berth at Burnie day or night. The scenic wonders of the West and Northwest Coast are reached from Burnie and it serves as the outlet port for the mineral and agricultural produce of those parts of the State.
Following is a brief overview of Stanley's history published in the Circular Head Chronicle in 1942:
The VDL Company received a Royal Charter to select 250,000 acres of land in Tasmania. Mr Curr sent his deputy, William Adey, to explore the North West Coast in 1826. After a search, Adey selected Circular Head, describing it as the best land he had seen in the colony.
The ship Transmere arrived in Stanley towards the end of 1826. The ship brought twenty indentured servants together with tools, building materials, clothing, utensils, seeds and fifty Cotswold sheep and two Teeswater cows.
In 1928, the town of Wynyard was described as follows:
Wynyard has a population of about 1,500 and the municipality of Table Cape, of which Wynyard is the centre, has a population of nearly 6,000. The town is well laid out with well-kept roads and footpaths. It has excellent water service and electric supply, a public library, three public halls, in two of which pictures are screened regularly, seven banks and five churches, the bank buildings and churches being very noticeable architectural features of the town. The town is well catered for from a sporting standpoint, there being two excellent golf courses within easy reach of the town.
By the late 1800s, Latrobe was the third largest town in Tasmania. It was also the chief shipping port in the northwest before the port was relocated. When the port was relocated, Latrobe was also hard hit by an economic depression and a major flooding. By the turn of the 20th century, the local flour mill was forced to close after 30 years service.
Ulverstone is one of the prettiest of seaside towns, and in addition, is favoured with many charming beauty spots. The beaches are very fine, while Leven Park, which is an exceedingly pleasant journey from the town is noted for its striking sylvan beauty. Further inland are the Gunn's Plains Caves, in which some splendid chambers have been made available for visitors. They have not yet been fully explored and it is believed that when they are fully developed they will be of remarkable beauty. The caves and motor boat excursions to Leven Park are most favoured by local residents and visitors alike.
The run along the coast road to Penguin, returning by the back road, provides an ideal outing. The views to be obtained are excellent, especially those of the Leven River on the return trip.
The above description of Ulverstone was published in the Advocate in 1922. Does it still apply today?
By the early 1920s, Penguin was regarded as a popular seaside resort with rich agricultural country inland and the famous Blythe iron deposits in close proximity. At this time, Penguin had no public parks or garden, however, the shady beaches of Penguin were regarded as among the best and safest on the coast.
Thanks for checking in and welcome to my adventure
Follow in Facebook to receive the latest updates