East Coast Heritage Museum and Glamorgan Spring Bay Historical Society
22 Franklin Street SWANSEA TAS 7190
Ph: 6256 5066
Situated in the heritage listed schoolhouse and teacher's residence in the heart of Swansea, the museum incorporates Visitor Information Centre, War Memorial and the Glamorgan Spring Bay History Society. It contains a wealth of information pertaining to early settlement on the east coast as well as the life of convict and indigenous population. Well worth the visit.
Burnie Regional Museum
Little Alexander Street BURNIE TAS 7320
Ph: 6430 5746
The permanent highlight of the Burnie Regional Museum is a streetscape taking you back to a bygone era with recreation of colonial shops from more than 100 years ago.
West Coast Heritage Centre
114 Main Street ZEEHAN TAS 7469
Ph: 6471 6225
Spread over four historic buildings comprising the Gaiety Theatre, Courthouse, Zeehan School of Mines and Metallurgy and the Freemason Lodge, this heritage centre provides multiple sensory experiences through simulated underground mine shaft, silent movies, steam engines from early west coast railways, themed indoor and outdoor exhibits as well as an impressive array of minerals and gemstones.
Beaconsfield Mine and Heritage Centre
West Street BEACONSFIELD TAS 7270
Ph: 6383 1473
Featuring numerous interactive activities where kids want to linger, the centre offers something for everyone including mining and agricultural machinery from a bygone era as well as exhibits from the mining disaster that captured the nation more than a decade ago. Not to be missed.
Channel Heritage Centre
1755 Channel Highway MARGATE TAS 7054
Ph: 6267 2333
The community owned museum is filled to the brim with local history with extensive collections of donated artefacts and memorabilia as well as appliances of all descriptions and 700 plus cameras for the enthusiast. There is also a research and reading room and a café for light meals or coffee. A hidden gem, this heritage centre is a bronze medalist in the Culture Tourism category for the 2017 Tasmanian Tourism Award.
Bligh Museum of Pacific Exploration
876 Adventure Bay Road BRUNY ISLAND TAS 7150
Ph: 6293 1117
A treasure trove of historic information on maritime navigators Tasman, Furneaux, Cook, Bligh and others, this small museum is an Aladdin cave packed with documents, maps and other artefacts relating to Pacific exploration.
Deloraine and District Folk Museum
98-100 Emu Bay Road DELORAINE TAS 7304
Ph: 6362 5280
A collection of heritage buildings showcasing tools and farming implements of early settlers. The main attraction is the commercial inn, established in 1863, with furniture and artefacts relative to the period.
Bass Strait Maritime Centre
6 Gloucester Avenue DEVONPORT TAS 7310
Ph: 6424 7100
With part of its collection from the former Devonport Maritime Museum and Historical Society, the centre offers comprehensive information on maritime history including European exploration, settlement, shipwrecks and the impact of steam. With well presented interactive displays, the most popular is the simulator enabling one to pilot a vessel in multiple environments.
Don River Railway
Forth Road DEVONPORT TAS 7310
Ph: 6424 6335
A volunteer run heritage railway and museum, it runs a passenger train from Don to Coles Beach. The museum itself has much information on the extensive train network that once operated across Tasmania in addition to an array of diesel and steam engines and carriages on display.
77 Middle Road DEVONPORT TAS 7310
Ph: 6424 8055
Former residence of Tasmania's only Prime Minister Joseph Lyons and Dame Enid Lyons, the first woman elected to federal parliament.
Old Hobart Town Model Village
21A Bridge Street RICHMOND TAS 7025
Ph: 6260 2502
Situated on the main street in Richmond is a historically accurate model of Old Hobart Town as it was in the 1820s. It is built in meticulous detail on a 1:16 scale. Hours of work have gone into the detail in both buildings, landscape and figures. A must see when visiting Richmond.
Pearn's Steam World
65 Meander Valley Road WESTBURY TAS 7303
Ph: 6393 1414
Housing over 200 pieces of vintage machinery, it holds the largest collection of steam engine in the Southern Hemisphere. The collection also includes a settler's cottage as well as displays exploring the lives of four generations of extraordinary women of the Pearn family.
Tiagarra Aboriginal Culture Centre and Museum
Mersey Bluff DEVONPORT TAS 7310
Ph: 6424 8250
Possibly the oldest Aboriginal museum in Australia, Tiagarra displays petroglyphs, designs in rocks and exhibits that depict the traditional lifestyle of the Tasmanian Aboriginal people. Displays include stone tools, shelters and weapons.
Ulverstone History Museum
50 Main Street ULVERSTONE TAS 7315
Ph: 6425 3835
Comprehensive display of artefacts, manuscripts, tools and photographs depicting the life of the early pioneers. Also available are research facilities for the Central Coast district including school registers, birth, death and marriage records, property valuations, assessment rolls and other items of interest.
Stanley Discovery Museum and Genealogy Centre
37 Church Street STANLEY TAS 7331
Ph: 6458 2091
Solely run by volunteers, the Stanley Discovery Museum holds an interesting collection depicting the history of Stanley through photographs, books, memorabilia and artefacts. It also holds title deeds relating to properties in Stanley dating back to the original transfer of Van Diemen Land Company blocks to Stanley residents.
93 Main Street SHEFFIELD TAS 7306
Ph: 6491 1861
Displays include everyday household items and agricultural machinery from the 1800s, the world first coin operated petrol pump and a Boer War canon to name a few. The museum also offers genealogy service with access to local collection of church records. It is situated at Sheffield, internationally renowned for its collection of public murals depicting the area's rich history.
George Town Watch House
84-86 Macquarie Street GEORGE TOWN TAS 7253
Ph: 6382 4466
George Town is one of the older European settlements in Australia, first settled in 1804. The town is host to a watch house built in 1843, which features an acclaimed Departures and Arrival display describing its convict past particularly relating to the female factories. The centrepiece is a town model as it would have appeared in the 1850s. The local historical society operates a Community History Room in the complex.
2278 Woodsdale Road WOODSDALE TAS 7120
Ph: 6254 6171
The Woodsdale Museum was founded by a group of enthusiastic history buff volunteers in 2004. The volunteers transformed an old school residence into a museum with changing displays every three months. Its centrepiece is the Shearing Interpretation Shed. The museum is open every Sunday or by appointment only.
Waratah Courthouse Museum
16 Smith Street WARATAH TAS 7321
Ph: 6439 1252
Located in Smith Street and formerly the town's Court House, the Waratah Museum is a natural starting point for visitors wanting to explore the town. Its display offers detailed history of the district with photographs and artefacts relating to its history as home to what was formerly the largest tin mine in the world. Waratah was Tasmania's first town built on mining and like all mining towns has experienced a roller coaster ride of boom and bust across the decades.
St James Church Gallery and History Centre
17 Smith Street WARATAH TAS 7321
Ph: 0438 371 787
This beautifully restored heritage listed church has been turned into a gallery showcasing local artists as well as a history centre which offers changing exhibitions with a community focus. One of the more recent exhibitions included Lest We Forget Waratah Soldier. Recent events included re-enactment picnic at the old Magnet hospital site and the Anzac Poppy Project.
Circular Head Heritage Centre
8 King Street SMITHTON TAS 7330
Ph: 6452 3296
Circular Head Heritage Centre offers a focus for local history research and cultural heritage programs. With over 5,000 artefacts and a genealogy room, countless memories and stories live in its carefully managed collection of public and private records, including 10,000 photographs, slides and film, all donated by local families. The Heritage Centre is run by volunteers and is open on Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays between 11:00 am and 2:30 pm.